beragro.blogg.se

Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round
Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round








  1. Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round cracked#
  2. Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round serial#

And they were on display 18 months later! A number of them showed the exact same defects to the front sight as mine. Charter Arms had a bunch of their revolvers on display. At least one of the chambers is too tight.Ħ. Sometimes I pull the trigger and the cylinder still refuse to move.ĥ. Everything I shoot out of it tumbles to the target.Ĥ. They also shaved the front sight down to half height so it could hit where it was aimed.ģ. It has been to the factory twice, once to replace the pawl so it would actually turn the cylinder, once to tighten the barrel so the sights would line up (which meant the barrel lug no longer lines up). Every time I shoot it I have to tighten every screw.Ģ. 38 Special barrel and cylinder to allow for 6 rounds instead of 5. It is a Bulldog or the Pug (whichever is the. HA! I've got an October 2008 Charter Arms Police Undercover. If you have a limited amount of money to spend for personal protection, there's nothing wrong with a Charter Arms revolver. There are better made and more expensive revolvers out there. You probably won't blow one up but they can be damaged beyond repair.

Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round cracked#

The forcing cone is pretty thin and lots of people have cracked them running Elmer Keith loads through them. Be cautious with heavy loads in a 696, if you push one enough to damage it parts are no longer available from S&W. bullet at 900 fps will solve just about any self defense problem I can think of. For handloading though it's very hard to beat. (wish I had bought several considering what guys are paying for one now- $800 and up) I think the cartridge just isn't popular or available enough for most people. I wish they were still in production, they were dropped after only a couple of years. I was lucky to get one when they were first hit the shelves and it is my favorite S&W. The 696 is actually built on the L frame. 44 slug I could find and the Gold Dot beats them all. Over the years I've handloaded just about every. rounds are a perfect match for guns like the Bulldog. I have heard that the companys reputation suffered after the Bridgeport years. If the gun you're interested in was made anywhere but Bridgeport, someone else will have to tell you what to expect because I don't know. (It has spent its life since I owned it mostly in a beside table drawer.) I sold the gun years ago, but I saw the person I sold it to about a year and a half ago, and the gun was still tight circa 2009 and in good condition. The gun was surprisingly accurate with standard velocity LRN too.

charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round

The gun was far more pleasant to shoot with standard velocity 158 grain LRN ammo. I soon learned that the gun wasn't any of fun to shoot with +P though it was so lightweight, that upon recoil, the hammer spur would tear up the webbing between my thumb and forefinger, so I never shot it much with +P. The first ammo I fired in mine was a box of what today would be called +P rounds, purchased against all advice. It was marketed as "a pound of protection", a reference to its light weight and serious caliber, and it was all that. The blueing was very good, though not as good as Colt. Many people replaced them or added Tyler T's. The grips were really too small for my hands. The stock gun as it came from the manufacturer had tiny wood handgrips on which there was a silver colored design of a charter or scroll. in the early 1970's was that they had a supposedly unbreakable "berylium" (sp?) firing pin. One unique feature about the "Undercover Model" 38 Special snubbies that were made by Charter Arms in Bridgeport, Ct. I think the cylinder was too but I'm not sure that the metal in the handle was, though it may have been. The barrels and frames were made of good gunmetal. I believe the barrel and frame were all of a piece or at least they could not be disassembled.

charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round

It was a very stylish gun for its day, with an exposed hammer. I have no personal knowledge of the products produced by the various reincarnations of the company that came after that.The snubby 38 Special that Charter built in Bridgeport back in the early 1970's had a 1 7/8 inch barrel and was called the Undercover model. I believe the earliest and best Charter Arms revolvers were manufactured by the first incarnation of the company which was Charter Arms Corp.

Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round serial#

Can't help you with serial numbers, but if you look at WHERE the gun was manufactured, that can tell you a lot.










Charter arms undercover 38 special 6 round